Remembering N8M: 1957

The Eight-Man game received another boost when several 6-Man teams decided to move up to the new and popular way to play small-school football in the state.

Because of these moves, the 6-Man game down-sized from 105 teams to 78. While Eleven-man football in Nebraska lost 8 of its 189. One interesting highlight from this year's Final 8-Man Top 10 was the fact O'Neill St. Mary's won three games in a span of 7 days during the 1957 season, defeating Niobrara, Verdigre, and Norfolk Sacred Heart. The Cardinals outscored the trio 163-19 in the process.

<u>1957 8-Man Final Top 10</u>

- 1. Exeter, 8-o Coach-Rick Gibson
- 2. Red Willow, 10-0 Coach-Don McKillip
- 3. O'Neill St. Marys, 9-0 Coach-D.F. Templemeier
- **4. Ceresco**, **8-1** Coach-Bill Schubacker
- **5. Brady**, **7-1** Coach-Cal Cordes
- 6. Sutherland, 7-1 Coach-Unknown
- 7. Elm Creek, 8-o Coach-Don Williams
- 8. Amherst, 7-1 Coach-Earl Jensen
- 9. Dakota City, 7-1 Coach-Garlie Sailers
- 10. Norfolk Sacred Heart, 4-4 Coach: Fred Lethby

1957 8-Man All-State Football Team

End---Dave Pohlmeier-Lawrence, 5-11, 160, Senior

End---Don Reimers-Red Willow, 5-11, 166, Junior

Guard-Don McVasey-Norfolk Sacred Heart, 6-0, 220, Senior

Guard-Tom Harre-Exeter, 6-0, 165, Senior

Center-Bruce Weier-O'Neill St. Marys, 5-9,165, Senior

Back---Larry Bristol--Exeter, 5-9, 169, Senior

Back---Harvey Fisher-Amherst, 5-8, 150, Senior

Back---Burdette Malleck-Red Willow, 5-7, 158, Senior

A total of 120 teams played 8-Man football in 1957, and here are those schools with their final won/loss totals that year.

Red Willow (10-0), O'Neill St. Marys (9-0), Exeter (8-0), Elm Creek (8-0), Sidney St. Patricks, Arthur (8-1), Ceresco (8-1), Emerson (8-1), Shelby (8-1), Sutherland (7-1), Amherst (7-1), Brady (7-1), Dakota City (7-1), Davenport (7-1), Fairfield (7-1), Loomis (7-1), Chadron Assumption (7-1), Bartley (7-2), Culbertson (7-2), Hayes Center (7-2), Mitchell Sunflower (7-3), Filley (6-1), Gurley (6-1), Chester (6-2), Overton (6-2), Odell (6-2), Big Springs (6-3), Utica (6-3), Mead (6-3), Wayne Hahn (5-1), Dwight Assumption (5-2). Wausa (5-2), Ulysses (5-2), Potter (5-2-1), Hershey (5-2-1), Alliance St. Agnes (5-3), Holbrook (5-3), Milford (5-3), North Platte St. Pats (5-3), Lodepole (5-3-1), Paxton (5-3-1), Stapleton (5-3-1), Bancroft (5-4), Cedar Bluffs (5-4), McGrew (4-2), Coleridge (4-2), Donpihan (4-2-1), Kenesaw (4-2-1), Juniata (4-3), Venango (4-3), Lewiston (4-3), Maywood (4-3), Eustis (4-4), Axtell (4-4), Loomis (4-4), Elsie (4-4), Harrison (4-4), Norfolk Sacred Heart (4-4), Pleasanton (4-4), Niobrara (4-4-1), Lyman (4-5), Indianola (4-5), Palisade (4-6), Melbeta (3-2), Beemer (3-3), Newcastle (3-3), Beaver Crossing (3-4), Fairmont (3-4), Madrid (3-4), McCool Junction (3-4), Naper (3-4), Thedford (3-4), Cortland (3-5), Dalton (3-5), Farnum (3-5), Lewellen (3-5), Rising City (3-5), Bruning (3-5), Valparaiso (3-5), Edger (3-6), Bellwood Marietta (2-3-1), York St. Joseph (2-3), Winnebago (2-3), Dix (2-4), Giltner (2-4), Elkhorn (2-5), Campbell (2-5), Friend (2-5), Hardy (2-6), Sumner (2-6), Bradshaw (2-6), Homer (1-3-1), Holstein (1-4), Trumbull (1-4), Wallace (1-5-1), Mullen (1-5-1), Fremont St. Pats (1-5), Osmond (1-5), Winside (1-5), Verdigre (1-6-1), Spencer (1-6), Beatrice St. Joe (1-6), Hildreth (1-7), Lynch (1-7), Maxwell (1-7), Stratton (1-7), Benkleman (1-7), Leigh (1-8), Adams (0-6-1), DeWitt (0-8-1), Roseland (0-5), Haigler (0-6), Rosalie (0-7), Tryon (0-7), Broadwater (0-7), Gresham (0-7), Brule (0-8), Harrisburg (0-8), Wilcox (0-8).