(9-0) Madrid Wheatland 26-7 Eustis (8-1)

(9-0) Hampton 30-2 Decatur (7-1)

Final (at 10-0) Wheatland, 38-32 Hampton (10-0) {2 Overtimes}

Champion: Wheatland (11-0), Head Coach- Jack Sunderland

Hall of Fame coaches Jack Sunderland of Wheatland and Jim Connick of Hampton faced off on a bone chilling afternoon in Madrid. The Spartans overcame a 20-0 first half deficit and eventually tied the game at 32 to force the first overtime in Nebraska prep football history. In fact, there were two extra periods. Wheatland won 38-32 on Bryan McCormick's 10-yard pass to Ron Hagan in the second extra period. McCormick completed only 7 of 15 passes for a meager 105 yards, but five of those connections were for touchdowns. Hagen also blitzed the Hawk defense for 174 yards on 21 carries while teammate Brad Lee added 102 yards. Hampton's sensational junior RB Brian Hahn ran for 130 yards on 29 carries, enough to vault him to the state rushing title.

1976 Eight Man All-State Offense

End----Bill Derr-Lyman, 6-2, 175, Senior

End----Brad Regier-Hampton, 5-11, 165, Senior

Guard-Scott Gronewald-Adams, 6-0, 190, Senior

Guard-Mark Christensen-Lodgepole, 6-3, 195, Senior

Center-Rod Baker*-Decatur, 6-2, 210, Senior - (Repeater from 1975)

Back----Ron Hagen-Wheatland, 5-10, 175, Senior (1,480 yards)

Back----Tony Little-Mullen, 5-10,170, Senior (1,008 yards)

Back----Brian Hahn-Hampton, 5-11,165, Junior (1,711 yards)

Kicker---Tony Little-Mullen, 5-10,170, Senior - (Selected at two positions)

1976 Eight Man All-State Defense

End----Brad Lee-Wheatland, 5-10, 200, Senior

End----Brian Marquette-Trenton, 6-0, 180, Senior

Guard-Rod Smallfoot-Farnam, 5-9, 180, Junior

Guard-Gary Troester-Hampton, 6-2, 180, Senior

LB-----Matt Brandl-Humphrey, 6-3, 220, Senior (1,283 yards)

LB----Terry Vitosh-Odell, 6-0, 185, Senior

DB-----Brian Van Diest-Sandhills, 6-3, 180, Senior

DB-----Jeff Veerhusen-Adams, 5-9, 145, Senior

Honorable Mention:

Marc Gillette, Dave Miller-Adams; Ken Thompson-Lyman; Bruce Shinn-Sandhills; Dean Filipi-Milligan; Kirk Selden-Rising City; Alan Gorsuch-Mullen; Brian McCormick, Garnie Walters-Wheatland; Brad Ballou, Richard Bond-Wilsonville; Kurt Kugler-Eustis (1,085 yards); Dan Becker-Beaver City (1,516 yards); Bruce Buhr-Filley; Dale Sicheneder-Chambers; Sean Dunning (1,135 yards), Sterling Walker-Decatur; Kevin Exstrom-Venango; Dave Glaser-Spalding High; Doug Wacker-Culbertson; Randy Bures-Odell; Dennis Peters-Dalton; Perry Phelan-Big Springs; Brad Bower-Chappell; Ernie Damico-Campbell; Tim Meyer (1,041 yards), Mark Peterson-Ruskin; Rick Melcher-Monroe; Eric Ballagh-Nebraska Christian; Dale Kreikemeier-Beemer; Scott Novak-Rosalie; Gary Consbruck-Trumbull.