Remembering N8M: 1960

167 Teams played 8-Man football in 1960

In 1960, thirteen 8-Man football teams finished with unbeaten records.

Fremont Bergan finished the year 9-0-1, Bellwood Marietta, Bennett, Indianola, Madrid and Johnson all completed the year at 9-0.

Wolbach and Friend went 8-0-1, while Record scoring Fairfield (640 points), Amherst and Winnebago ended up 8-0.

Wausa completed their 1960 campaign at 7-0, while Lynch concluded their season with a 6-0-2 mark.

The 1960 Fairfield team (8-0) scored like no other Nebraska high school team has ever scored before. They blitzed eight opponents to the tune of an average score of 80 to 1.6. That's correct, 640 points scored. 13 given up. 100 plus points scored twice. Coach Howard Zook's 1960 Eight-Man Dream Team scored 93 touchdowns, 80 (one-point) conversions and a safety.

The legendary backfield of quarterback Marion Fike and backs Joe Heckenlively, Tom Zook and Fenton Crookshank was lethal to say the least.

Seventy-four of the touchdowns came on runs and 19 came on passes thrown by Fike. All four of Fairfield's backs scored over 100 points in 1960.

Rushing yards were seldom kept back then. Points scored was the measuring stick

Joe Heckenlively led the way with 220 points (30 touchdowns and 40 PATS), QB Marion File was next with 138 (20 TDs/18 PATS).

Tom Zook followed with 129 points (20 TDs, 9 PATS) and Fenton Crookshank racked up 110 points (17 TDS/8 PATS).

If you figure those games consisted of four 12-minute quarters (divided the 640 points) they scored two points every minute.

The Eagles were also magnificent on Defense. Fairfield opponents had possession 113 times during those EIGHT games and could muster just one touchdown coming on a pass play and the other on a kick return.

Below is the 1960 OVERALL All-State Football team plus the Class "A" and Class "B" All-State teams before the OVERALL squad was chosen.

1960 Eight-Man Football Final OVERALL Top 10

- 1. Fairfield, (8-0) Coach- Howard Zook
- *640 points scored, 13 allowed*
- 2. Fremont Archbishop Bergan (9-0-1) Coach- Lou Wewel
- 3. Amherst (8-o) Coach- Cecil Stutzman
- 4. Winnebago (8-0) Coach- Keith Richey
- **5. Friend (8-0-1)** Coach- Chuck Sukovaty
- 6. Fairmont (7-1) Coach- Charles Findley
- 7. Falls City Sacred Heart (7-1) Coach- The Reverend Dennis Hotovy
- 8. Lawrence (6-2-1) Coach- Don Janda
- 9. Johnson (9-0) {373-131} Coach- Al Stiers
- 10. York St. Joseph (8-1) Coach- Jerald Melcher

1960 Eight-Man Football Final CLASS "A" Top 10

- 1. Fremont Bergan, (9-0-1)
- 2. *Winnebago*, (8-0)
- 3. Friend, (8-0-1)
- 4. Falls City Sacred Heart, (7-1)
- **5.** Johnson, (9-0)
- 6. Sutherland, (8-1)
- 7. Hershey, (8-1)
- 8. Spalding Academy, (6-1-1)
- 9. Wausa, (7-1)
- 10. Valparaiso, (6-2)

1960 Eight-Man Football Final CLASS "B" Top 10

- 1. Fairfield, (8-0)
- 2. Amherst, (8-0)
- 3. Fairmont, (7-1)
- 4. Lawrence, (6-2-1)
- 5. York St. Joseph, (8-1)
- 6. Madrid, (9-0)
- 7. Bellwood Marietta, (9-0)
- 8. Lynch, (6-0-2)
- 9. Bennet, (9-0)
- 10T. Wolbach, (8-0)
- *10T. Indianola, (9-0)*

1960 8-Man OVERALL All-State Football Team

End----Emmit Bosshamer-Amherst, 6-1, 188, Junior

End----Gerald Troxel-Brady, 6-2, 190, Senior

Guard-Herbert Beck-Fremont Bergan, 5-10, 175, Senior

Guard-Myron Petr-Lawrence, 6-2, 232, Senior

Center-Robert Hoins-Fairfield, 5-9, 170, Junior

Back--*Joe Heckenlively-Fairfield, 6-2, 172, Senior

Back---Miles Otoupal-York St. Joseph, 5-9, 158, Senior

Back---Steve McGuire-Fremont Bergan, 5-10, 175, Senior

1960 8-Man Class "A" All-State Football Team

DENOTES: 8-Man Hall of Fame Inductee

End----Rudy Hernandez-Hershey

End----Dale Engel-Friend

Guard-Herbert Beck-Fremont Bergan

Guard-Jim Copeland-Sutherland

Center-Tom Rice-Fremont Bergan

Back---John Tompkins-Winnebago

Back---Douglas Voegele-Falls City Sacred Heart

Back---Steve McGuire-Fremont Bergan

1960 8-Man Class "B" All-State Football Team

End----Emmit Bosshamer-Amherst

End----Gerald Troxel-Brady

Guard-Terry Parkening-Waterloo

Guard-Myron Petr-Lawrence

Center-Robert Hoins-Fairfield

Back--*Joe Heckenlively-Fairfield

Back---Miles Otoupal-York St. Joseph

Back---Dennis Thorell-Loomis
